Banana Ginger Zingy Mini-Muffins

As it turns out, not everything I bake is savory (just almost everything).  If I’m going to go sweet, my go to is banana-something, and I always reduce the sugar and add extra flavors.  In this case, ginger – the nectar of the gods – and lots of it.  For this recipe, I knew what I wanted to make and taste but didn’t know what cooking times or specific measurements would be, so I turned to that musty distant relative’s closet of a recipe compendium, allrecipes.com.  I found this 5 star, 2729 reviews recipe and adapted from there.

Before I begin, let me introduce you to this marvelous thing that I recently discovered at the grocery store:

ginger

My life has forever been altered for the better.  This is literally the best thing ever, because it lets me add ginger to everything, from stir-frys to baked goods – like it’s no big thang.  I put a hefty 2 tablespoons in this recipe for a nice strong kick to the mouth with every bite, but if you’re a little shyer with you ginger you can add less for a more subtle zingy muffin.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 large bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup light (half-fat) butter, melted
  • 2-3 tablespoons ginger stir-in paste

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).  Coat mini-muffin pan with non-stick spray, or use paper liners. Mix together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt; set aside.
  2. Combine bananas, ginger, sugar, egg, and melted butter in a large bowl.  Fold in flour mixture, and mix until smooth.  Scoop into muffin pans.
  3. Bake in preheated oven.  Bake muffins for 10 to 15 minutes (if you’re making full-sized muffins, for 25 to 30 minutes).  They should spring back when lightly tapped when they’re done.

I’m a fool and I started making these before realizing that I had run out of baking soda, so I made the recipe with twice the amount of baking powder, instead.  They turned out delicious, but I had to bake them for more than twice the time in the above recipe, and then broil them in the oven to get a nice color on the top.

Muffins 1

All’s well that ends well, though, and they were something I couldn’t help but snack on every time I passed by the fridge (while they lasted).  And that’s saying something, for someone with little to no sweet tooth!

Muffins

 

**April 12 Update – I’ve since made these with semi-sweet dark chocolate chips in the mix – delicious!**

Leave a Reply

