Vegnesday: Garlic and Chili Kale Chips

The kale food fad may be a few years behind us, but I figure if something’s both healthy and delicious, the passing of food fashions aren’t going to make me abashed to cook it.  My local grocery store has never had kale before (that I’ve noticed – and for those that find this weird, I don’t live in the U.S.), so when I saw it I grabbed it and didn’t look back because I’ve made these crunchy kale chips before and looked forward to some guilt-free snacking while Netflix and chilling with the husband and cats.  Crunch? – check!  Superfood? – check!

The trick to making kale chips crunchy is making sure they’re not damp when you start.  For others, and the recipe I adapted from, check out Oh She Glows.  Turns out low and slowing them is also a way to avoid having a half-burnt batch.  I’m a weirdo so I ate the entirety of the batch I made myself, but this amount could easily serve 2-4 people.

Full disclosure – today is NOT Wednesday.  I recognize this.  I made this earlier in the week and got caught up at work so I forgot to post, hence Vegnesday on a Saturday it is!  You’re welcome.

Kale 4

Ingredients:

  • about 300g kale leaves
  • 1/2 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil or melted coconut oil
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper (optional)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 300F.  Line 2 large rimmed baking sheets with aluminum foil.
  • Remove the leaves from the stems of the kale and roughly tear them up into large pieces.  Wash and spin the leaves until thoroughly dry.

Kale 1

  • In a large bowl, massage in the oil into the kale until all the nooks and crannies are coated.  Now sprinkle on the spices/seasonings and toss to combine.  Instead of measuring out the above amounts I just added a generous sprinkling of garlic powder, chili powder, and salt and called it a day.
  • Spread out the kale onto the prepared baking sheets in a single layer, being sure not to overcrowd.

Kale 2

  • Bake for 10 minutes, rotate the pan, and bake for another 12-15 minutes until the kale begins to firm up.  It will shrink and darken, and when you taste a piece it should be crispy.
  • Cool the kale on the sheet for 3 minutes, then eat immediately – they lose their crispiness with time.

Kale 3

Did you like this recipe?  Like Aching for a Baking on Facebook!

One thought on “Vegnesday: Garlic and Chili Kale Chips

Leave a Reply

